Caldwell County Schools recognize year's best

May. 30, 2014 @ 09:58 AM

Hibriten High School teacher Kelly Bryant stood before her peers, co-workers and school board members Thursday night with a glass apple award in her hand. Her voice going out, Bryant told everyone at the Caldwell County Schools 2014 Excellence in Education Awards Dinner how she had always wanted to be a teacher.

“I’d like to thank God for allowing me to become a teacher,” Bryant said.

Bryant said it was a miracle she even became a teacher, because growing up she was terrified of leaving her mom’s side. In fact, her teachers would have to lock the classroom door or else she would try to run home. Thursday, she was recognized as the 2014-15 Teacher of the Year for Caldwell County Schools.

Six other individuals were recognized for their achievements and dedication to the school system.

Upon receiving the Associate of the Year award, Chad Coffey choked up at the podium.

“I thank the Lord most of all, and my nana, who is with me tonight, who is not only the most beautiful woman in the room, but she has supported me and is why I am standing here tonight,” Coffey said.

The evening was also filled with skits and moments of surprise. To recognize the creativity of a child, Dr. Trish Johnson, associate superintendent for human resources for Caldwell County Schools, led a question-and-answer period with the Crayola Crayons featured in the illustrated children’s book “The Day the Crayons Quit,” by Drew Daywault, to go along with the Hollywood, or “Broyhillwood,” theme of the evening. Each of the crayons had a specific complaint about being used by its child owner, Drew.

For instance, Pink said, “I’m just tickled to be out of the box. We’ve got to teach this kid to use more pink. Real men use pink!”

Also recognized for their excellence in education were Savannah Smith of Caldwell Career Center Middle College for Rookie Teacher of the Year, Carol Sturgis of Valmead Elementary School for Principal of the Year, Courtney Wright of Hibriten High School for Assistant Principal of the Year, Dallas Harding of Whitnel Elementary School for Bus Driver of the Year, and social Worker X. Alexis Hoover, who works with several schools, for Instructional Support Employee of the Year.