Lenoir-area students at Lenoir-Rhyne University

Jun. 12, 2014 @ 10:13 PM

Among the more than 250 students who were awarded diplomas at this year's Lenoir-Rhyne University commencement ceremony on May 16 were the following: Seth Bristol of Lenoir, BS in Biology; Brandon Burns of Granite Falls, BA in Sacred Music; Samantha Castleman of Granite Falls, BA in English; Catherine Correll of Lenoir, BA in Sociology; Kasi Estes of Hudson, BS in Nursing; Miranda Hairston of Lenoir, MA in School Counseling; Lauren Hamby of Granite Falls, BS in Nursing; Jimmy Hilton of Lenoir, BA in Broadcast and Electronic Media, BA in Multimedia Journalism; Kyle Hites of Lenoir, BA in Spanish; Laura Martorano of Lenoir, BA in Psychology; Christopher Parsons of Granite Falls, BA in Political Science; Brandis Pennell of Lenoir, BS in Nursing; Rachel Watts of Lenoir, BA in Sacred Music; John White of Granite Falls, BA in Management; Megan Winkler of Lenoir, BA in Psychology, BA in Human and Community Service.

More than 160 Lenoir-Rhyne University students were named to the President's List for earning superior grades during the Spring Semester in 2014. Students who achieve grade-point averages of 3.9 or better on the 4.0 scale are named to the President's List. They include: David Barbour of Hudson; Brandon Burns of Granite Falls; Cydney Caldwell of Granite Falls; Samantha Castleman of Granite Falls; Matthew Childers of Granite Falls; Melissa Coffey of Lenoir; Ellie Dishman of Lenoir; Kyle Hites of Lenoir; Laura Martorano of Lenoir; Chelsea Noel of Granite Falls; Christopher Parsons of Granite Falls; and Megan Woodruff of Lenoir.

Lenoir-Rhyne University named the following local students to the Spring 2014 semester Dean's List, which means they had a grade-point average of 3.5 to 3.89 on a 4.0 scale, with no grade below a C, and carried at least 12 hours of letter-graded courses: Rachel Watts of Lenoir; Aaron Rhoney of Granite Falls; Megan Winkler of Lenoir; Jessica Bumgarner of Granite Falls; John White of Granite Falls; Katelin Cooke of Granite Falls; Amanda Marshall of Granite Falls; Brandis Pennell of Lenoir; Latasha Bradshaw of Granite Falls; Stephanie Nelson of Lenoir; Robyn Tewksbury of Lenoir; Collin Hites of Lenoir; Annessa Monroe of Hudson.