Caldwell County Schools hire new finance director

Mar. 11, 2014 @ 05:04 PM

David Clifton Johnson was appointed the new finance director for the Caldwell County Schools at the Caldwell County Board of Education’s meeting Monday night.

Previously, Johnson worked for the Wilkes County Schools as the executive director of business operations and a finance officer. He graduated with his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Gardner Webb University.

“David brings a lot of talent,” Superintendent Steve Stone said. “He has some wonderful references, has a great relationship and certainly a great record in Wilkes County.”

Johnson replaces Karla Miller, who took a job working for the Catawba County Schools in February. Miller worked as finance director for 15 years.

Also Monday, several students received certificates for various achievements.

Jacob Houck, a sophomore at West Caldwell High School, won the N.C. 2A Wrestling Championship in the 126-pound weight division. Caleb Wooten, a junior at West Caldwell, placed third in the 190-pound weight division at the N.C. 2A Wrestling Competition.

Students honored for reading 1 million words were: Ryanna Taylor, Sydney Propst, Catherine Edmondson, Ethan Velasquez, Zoe Shaw, Jada Fuhr, Ruel Heavener, Bailey Shows, Isaac Anderson and McKenna Haislip of Granite Falls Middle School; Allison Bradshaw, Austin Rongo and Joshua Adams of Hudson Middle School; Nicolas Thomson, Steven Lin, Katie Zambrano and McKenzie Lawrence of William Lenoir Middle School; Cheyenne McMahan, Wesley Yates, Katherine McCoy and Ashleigh Prestwood of Happy Valley Elementary School; and Anya Blackwelder, Brooke Hartley, Travis Enloe and Aubrey Carter of Collettsville School.

The students who placed at the Senior BETA Convention were: Andi Willis, David Marhao, Kari Burgess, Rebecca Hall and Griffin Haas for first place in the Quiz Bowl; Kari Burgess for first place spelling; David Marhao for second place social studies; Rebecca Hall for second place English; Jacob Dremann for second place math; Griffin Haas for second place science; Levi Huffman for third place creative writing; Isaac Tolbert for third place US history; Rhyan Stone for third place biology; and Rebecca Hall and Kari Burgess as the writers and directors for second place character skit with Isaac Tolbert, Rebecca Storie, Jonathan Carter, Travis St. Brice, John Kripner, Griffin Haas, Meredith Hudson, Rhyan Stone and Chyna Tremer as the actors.