Disaster declaration includes Caldwell

Sep. 27, 2013 @ 07:58 AM

President Barack Obama declared a major disaster on Wednesday for 13 counties in western North Carolina, including Caldwell, from damage stemming from heavy rains July 3-13.

Caldwell County officials said Thursday they had not details about whether that declaration means more funding for flood victims will be available or how it would be distributed.

Last month, Gov. Pat McCrory had designated six counties as disaster areas, including Caldwell County, making residents eligible for state and federal aid for repairing damage from flooding in July.

A U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loan outreach center was set up for several days in Newton to handle grant and loan applications for help with home repairs, replacement of property and renting temporary housing, among other costs.