Moore’s tenure comes to a close at ASU

Long-time head Mountaineer will not return for 2013 season
Dec. 04, 2012 @ 08:46 AM

The tenure of the winningest football coach in Appalachian State and Southern Conference football history has come to an end.
A release issued by the university Sunday indicated that Jerry Moore, long-time head coach of the Mountaineers, will not return to the sidelines for a 25th season in 2013.
ASU Athletics Director Charlie Cobb said he and Moore met at the end of the 2011 season and decided the 2012 campaign would be the last for Moore, a highly-decorated coach during his four decades on the sidelines with the Mountaineers.
“Following the end of last season (2011), Coach Moore and I sat down and we came to the decision, with the approval of Dr. (Kenneth E.) Peacock (Appalachian State University chancellor) that the 2012 season would be the last season of his tenure as head coach,” Cobb said. “Coach Moore didn’t want to make that decision public before or during the season because, in his typical humble nature, he wanted all of the focus to be on his student-athletes, winning a 10th Southern Conference championship and returning to the postseason for the eighth straight year. In a fitting sendoff, all of those goals were accomplished. For thousands of Mountaineer fans, including myself, seeing him carried off the field by his players while clutching the Southern Conference championship trophy following the win over Furman (Nov. 10) was the highlight of the season.
“Words cannot express the gratitude that the Appalachian family has and that I have personally for Coach and Margaret (Moore’s wife). The number of lives that Coach and Margaret have impacted in a positive way in their 24 years in the High Country is innumerable. Coach Moore is legend at Appalachian State and in college football, and we are planning to celebrate his legacy appropriately and abundantly in the future.”
Assistant head coach/offensive coordinator Scott Satterfield, a former quarterback under Moore who returned this season for a second coaching stint in Boone, will serve as Appalachian State’s interim head coach while a nationwide search is conducted for the 20th head coach in program history.
Moore compiled a 215-87 record (.712 winning percentage) in 24 seasons at Appalachian State, including 10 Southern Conference championships, 18 postseason appearances and an unprecedented three straight NCAA Division I FCS/I-AA national titles (2005, 2006 and 2007). In 31 years as a head coach, including stops at North Texas and Texas Tech prior to his arrival in Boone in 1989, Moore was 242-135-2, good enough for 15th all-time among NCAA Division I coaches. He also served as an assistant on staffs led by Tom Osborne, Hayden Fry and Ken Hatfield.
ASU had 23 winning campaigns in 24 years under Moore, including nine seasons with 10 or more victories.
Moore passed coaching legends Bo Schembechler (234 victories), Billy Joe (237) and Woody Hayes (238) on the all-time wins list with ASU’s eight wins this season.
Under Moore’s direction, ASU won six straight SoCon titles from 2005-2010 and made it seven in eight years by sharing the 2012 crown with Georgia Southern and Wofford. All but two of Appalachian State’s 12 conference titles came under Moore’s direction, and his teams compiled a 22-15 postseason mark, though the Mountaineers lost their last three playoff games, all at home, including Saturday’s 38-37 setback to Illinois State that was decided by a blocked extra point that would have sent the game to a second overtime.
Appalachian State became a household name when Moore led his troops to perhaps the biggest and most prominent upset in college football history, a 34-32 triumph over the University of Michigan in the 2007 season opener. The victory over Michigan, college football’s all-time winningest program and a team ranked No. 5 in the Associated Press Top 25 poll that season, marked the first time that an FCS team ever toppled a nationally ranked FBS opponent. The win also compelled the AP to change its long-standing history of only accepting votes for FBS teams in its Top 25 poll, which allowed the Mountaineers to become the first FCS team ever to receive votes in the poll, which they did on three occasions that season en route to their third straight FCS title.
Appalachian became the first program ever to win three straight titles at the FCS level and the first Division I institution (FCS or FBS) to accomplish the feat in 61 years. ASU also became the first institution from the state of North Carolina to ever win an NCAA football championship at any level.
Moore also racked up his share of individual awards. He was a three-time American Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year (2005, ‘06, ‘07) and the only Division I (FCS or FBS) mentor in the 77-year history of the award to win it three years in a row. He also won the 2006 Eddie Robinson Award (National Coach of the Year) from The Sports Network, is a six-time AFCA Regional Coach of the Year (1994, ‘95, 2005, ‘06, ‘08, ‘09, ‘10) and a record eight-time SoCon Coach of the Year (1991, ‘94, ‘95, 2005, ‘06, ‘08, ‘09, ‘10).
“During his 24 years of loyal service to Appalachian State University, Coach Moore’s contribution to the institution is far greater than his success on the field,” Peacock said. “He touched the lives of many young people and made life better for them. He will be missed but never forgotten at Appalachian State.”